Select Language:  ENGLISH   |   KISWAHILI

Background of the Commission

The National Land Use Planning Commission (NLUPC) was established by Act of Parliament No. 3 of 1984 and later repealed by Land Use Planning Act No.6 of 2007. The establishment of the Commission was considered necessary after realizing that the policy, legal and the Institutional set up had not been effective enough in coordinating various land use related activities and programmes undertaken by different sectoral organization in the Government, Private sector and Non Governmental Organizations. Thus, the Commission was established so as to harmonize and co-ordinate all land use related policies and legislation, to promote effective management and enhancement of land quality with the aim of ensuring sustainable utilization of land, so that it can provide optimal production to enhance socio-economic development and maintenance of land quality for long term productivity.

In accordance to Land Use Planning Act No.6 of 2007 section 6 (1), provides the establishment of the Commission. Section 6 (1) (a) of the Act, points that, Hon. President of the United Republic of Tanzania appoints the Chairman of the Commission. Section 6 (1) (b) of the Act, gives mandate to the Hon. Minister in Charge of Lands to appoint not less than five members and not more than ten members to form the Commission. Commission members are from public, private and popular sectors as stipulated in Section 6(1) (b) (i- xiii). Director General is also appointed by the Hon. President of the United Republic of Tanzania [Section 10 (1) (b)] is the Secretary of the Commission and Chief Executive Officer in charge of daily activities of the Commission. With this structure, the National Land Use Planning Commission is a permanent institution.

Moreover, the Commission has Four Directorates; Directorate of Finance and Administration, Directorate of Physical Planning, Directorate of Land use Coordination, Communication and Policy and Directorate of Research and Documentation. There are Three Departments in each Directorate, Four independent Units and One Zonal Office located in Tabora.


Mandates of the Commission

The mandates of the Commission are;

  1. To prepare, protect, conserve and enhance land use planning to ensure sustainable development for the benefit of the environment and the people.
  2. To protect, conserve, enhance sustainability of all land resources for the existing and future generations.
  3. To facilitate planning authorities at village, District, Regional and National levels on Land Use Planning.

Functions of the Commission

The functions of the Commission as stipulated in the Section No. 7(1) in the Land Use Planning Act No. 6 of 2007 are;

  1. Coordinate, advice and inspect all sectors on collective standards and to advise the minister to make the agreed standards
  2. Provide assistance to all land use planning authorities and prepare land use plans, monitor their implementation and from time to time, evaluate them
  3. Coordinate the activities of all bodies concerned with land use planning matters and serves as a channel of communication between such institutions and the government
  4. Design and disseminate programs that will effectively protect and enhance the quality of land and better land use planning
  5. Stimulate public and private participation in activities related to land use planning for rational and beneficial use of land
  6. Foster co-operation between government, local government authorities and other institutions engaged in land use planning
  7. Promote the advancement of scientific knowledge in land use matters and encourage the development of technology directed at the prevention or reduction of adverse effects on land
  8. Specify standards, norms and criteria for the protection of beneficial uses and the maintenance of the quality of land
  9. Undertake and co-ordinate research, investigation and surveys relating to land use planning and collect, collate and creative a national data bank to disseminate information about the findings of such research, investigation or survey
  10. Establish and operate a system of documentation and dissemination of information relating to land use planning
  11. In consultation with sector ministries, examine existing laws and advise the Government on legislative and other measures for the management of land use planning and recommend their implementation.
  12. Establish and maintain liaison with other countries and international organization, with respect to issues and matters relating to land use planning.
  13. Undertake, in co-operation with relevant agencies, programs intended to enhance land use planning education, and public awareness about the need for sound land management and for enlisting public support and encouraging the effort made by other entities in that regard
  14. Undertake and promote educational programs in land use planning for the purpose of all educating the public on proper land use planning and the role of the public in its protection, use and improvement.
  15. Ensure compliance with the approved land use plans and
  16. Perform such other functions as may be assigned to it under the Act.


Joomla! Debug Console


Profile Information

Memory Usage

Database Queries